An Itch That Just Doesn’t Get Scratched


Type of Beer: Lager
Beer: Old Scratch Amber Lager
Brewery: Flying Dog Brewery
Rating: 4/10
Place of Purchase: Joe Canal’s, Marlton, NJ
Bottling Date: NA


Nose: Malty, faint citrus. Not much else

Mouth: Medium body. Nutty, not very strong. Finish clean but not much there. After taste is slightly choclaty, slightly peaty.

This was rather disappointing. It’s the first brew I’ve had from Flying Dog and it’s lackluster to put it bluntly. I have heard good things about Flying Dog but for this, my first foray into their catalog, I’m on the disappointed side. I was expecting much more.

It’s not a bad beer just…uninspiring. I think it falls short. So short I’m having a hard time thinking of something to say about this. It’s very mild though and you could probably kill a 6-pack easily by yourself. It’s smooth too but it just lacks the heartiness and robustness one would expect from an amber lager. I actually think they could learn a thing or two from Yuengling. Not that I mean that as an insult. More that I think this doesn’t live up to that standard.

I gave this a 4 out of 10 ’cause, well, isn’t it obvious? Well, no, it isn’t and that’s the problem.

Leave a Reply

