Whatever That Sumpin’ is…keep it.

Type of Beer: Pale Ale
Beer: A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale
Brewery: Lagunitas Brewing Company
Rating: 5/10
Place of Purchase: Joe Canal’s, Marlton, NJ
Bottling Date: NA


Nose: Hoppy, piney, citrus, strong

Mouth: Medium body, hops presentation throughout. Piney, citrus, in all aspects. Doesn’t finish clean.

I don’t think this is worth the hype. Lots of people I know think this is something special. I have to seriously disagree.

Why? I know you’re asking why. Hell, you’re probably calling me names right now and dismissing what I’m saying because I’ve just shat on your favorite brew. Well, suck it up buttercup, this isn’t worth writing home about. Here’s why.

First problem, balance. There is none. This is all hops, all the time and it’s like…no, it is this way ’cause I can taste it. They used the strongest stuff from each variety they could and then hamfisted it into the brew.

Second problem, malt. It’s there, I can see it! The stuff is tan and that’s from the malt! But I’ll be damned if I can taste it.

Third problem, finishing. It’s like drinking paint. It coats everything with a sour film.

I don’t know how this can be found enjoyable when it fights itself at every turn. It’s like being at a concerts for an 80’s hair metal band and they launch into their single ballad. Halfway through, the lead singer starts talking to the crowd about bullshit and then lead guitarist launches into a solo performance that is abolute garbage and really just mastubatory ego manipulation. That’s what this beer is like.

It’s trying too hard. Way too hard. I don’t know why all these west coast brewers think that IPAs need to be so grossly over-hopped. I even let this sit for a month hoping it would mellow like an IPA is supposed to but no. It didn’t and I’m sorry, I don’t know what malarkey some of these craft brewers out there have had their heads filled with but this isn’t how an IPA is supposed to be. This is more like a carbonated hops tea than a beer.

I’m not a fan of this at all. Quality wise, it shows that somebody knows what they are doing. Which makes me wonder, if they know what they are doing so well, why would they do this to a beer?

Leave a Reply

