One For The Hopocalypse

LaFinDuMonde

Type of Beer: Tripel

Beer: La Fin du Monde
Brewery: Sleeman Unibroue
Rating: 9/10
Place of Purchase: Whole Foods, Tampa, FL
Bottling Date: NA

Happy Holidays and Merry Hopocalypse! I thought this would be a great day to review Unibroue’s La Fin Du Monde with all of the crazy media hype over the alleged Mayan prediction that the world would end today (really they just ran out of calendar). I happened upon it at the local Whole Foods the other day and was recommended to try it by their resident beer and coffee drinker. He said it was very good and he was right.

It’s a sweet and fruity beer that hails from Canada and I’d say it’s quickly becoming a favorite. It goes down smooth and has a nice after taste. You taste it mostly on the front of the tongue and it’s got hints of apple and pear. It seems like I can taste some spices in there, but I’m not sure what they are. It’s a strong beer, being 9% alcohol, but not bitter at all, which I like. It’s the kind of beer you want to drink slowly to savor the taste.

Overall, I’d say it’s a 9 or even a 9.5 out of 10. If I was only able to have one more beer before the world ended, this would definitely make the short list. I highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “One For The Hopocalypse

  1. I didn’t get the sweet at all. This was rather sour actually. Like a Belgian sour ale. Too sour actually. The nose is very yeasty which isn’t a bad thing. It’s overpowering though. There wasn’t much hops presentation at all either.

    But I let this sit for a while after I opened it with one of my wine saver corks and after about 2-3 weeks in the back of the fridge, it mellowed nicely like most bottle conditioned brews will if left alone for a while. Now it’s fruity with a sweet and sour kind of tangyness to it. It’s not bad. I dunno about giving it a 9. More like a 7.

Leave a Reply

