Thought It’d Be Steamy, Ended Up Kinda Wet

Type of Beer: Lager

Beer: Steam Beer
Brewery: Anchor Brewing Company
Rating: 6/10
Place of Purchase: Joe Canal’s, Marlton, NJ
Bottling Date: NA


Nose: Malty, sour
Mouth: Sour, malty finishes bitter.

I really don’t understand the hype on this. People love this stuff and I’m honestly not impressed. It almost tastes like it’s bad. I guess if your used to weak flavored beers from the macro-brewers this would be absolutely amazing. I’m not feelin’ it though. I’m rather annoyed by this. Like Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, I don’t get why people are so ZOMG! about this brew.

It reminds me of a Flemish sour ale. But it’s got almost a metallic flavor to it. It finishes kinda malty too. I think the best way to describe this is if like Anhauser-Busch decided to make a sour ale. It’d be a sour ale just sour enough to remind you of a sour ale but not sour enough to offend anyone.

As a beer though, this isn’t that bad. I’m just not enamored by the hype and very disappointed in my first experience with this brew.

2 thoughts on “Thought It’d Be Steamy, Ended Up Kinda Wet

  1. I think you pretty much nailed it with the if you were used to nothing but macro brewers and the common euro stuff, then this would be eye (and taste bud) opening. And for a decent percentage of us on the west coast who had only encountered the same variations, Anchor was the first beer that I encountered that broke the trend without resorting to other flavors (honey, etc) that wasn’t a true specialty brew. And perhaps those of us that are still ZOMG! about this are partially nostalgic. But have a couple of these on a warm spring day, or a cold summer day in San Francisco, and they are refreshing without tasting like “the regular.”

  2. That’s how people view Yuengling around here. Steam is far from a bad beer. I just think it doesn’t deserve the hype. If people had told me that this is a different beer made via a different process without all the “hipster glee” of “Oh, you haven’t tried this. You probably wouldn’t like it. It’s not a “macro brew”. *sneer*” I’d probably have given it a 7 and been less disparaging.

    But this is a lager and it’s not the best I’ve ever had like I was told it would be. I like it for the historical precedence ’cause it was born out of a desire to have a lager type of beer without the refrigeration methods needed to really lager a beer.

Leave a Reply

