A River Horse of a Different Color

Type of Beer: Imperial Ale, Ale, Pumpkin Ale

Beer: Hipp-O-Lantern Imperial Pumpkin Ale
Brewery: River Horse Brewing, Lambertville, New Jersey
Rating: 8/10
Place of Purchase: Joe Canal’s, Marlton, NJ
Bottling Date: N/A

So while out with one of my cohorts a few weeks back, we got into this conversation about Pumpkin Ales. I am not normally a big fan of “too much alternate flavor” or things that don’t belong in beer. Yes, no limes in a Corona and no other fruit in beers. Yes, I am talking to all you orange droppers that enjoy a Blue Moon beer. While we were out, I enjoyed the Weyerbacher version of the Pumpkin Ale. I really enjoyed that beer, but I heard the River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern was where it was at too!

While shopping at my local Canal’s Store, I walked the aisles searching for the right beer for the evening and something I knew I was going to enjoy. I came across the River Horse selections and then saw the Hipp-O-Lantern.

I was genuinely quite excited as I really could use a beer after the day I had and the person that recommended it, has never failed me.

It poured real nice in an amber color and completed with a good solid head; some lacing was present. There were subtle aromas, but by no means overpowering. I was actually hoping for a bit more spice at my nose. It did not really grab me, though it did not turn me away either.

The taste was malty with pumpkin, cinnamon and a little nutmeg. The flavor, like the aroma was not overpowering either. It was quite good and really matched its aroma creating a very solid character. It was very close to the Weyerbacher, though I think I would put the Weyerbacher one in front of it.

Overall, a solid brew that did not disappoint. There were little bits of pumpkin puree at the end that made for a nice finisher.

One thought on “A River Horse of a Different Color

  1. I actually like this brew and would rate it a 9/10. It’s on par with the Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale. It’s become a staple of my autumn selections and I look for it every year. It’s a strong brew though in more than just flavors, at 8.1% ABV, it is quite potent. Out of all the pumpkin brews though, it’s one of the best!

Leave a Reply

