A Traditional Oktoberfest From A Traditional Brewer

Type of Beer: Lager, Marzen

Beer: Oktoberfest
Brewery: D. G. Yuengling & Sons
Rating: 6/10
Place of Purchase: Joe Canal’s, Bellmawr, NJ
Bottling Date: NA

Nose: Malty, slightly sour, earthy
Mouth: Medium body, fizzy, malty, slightly sweet. Finishes slightly bitter, almost sour with a nutty aftertaste.

I have to say that I was disappointed in this. For years I didn’t know it existed. Then, a few years ago, I noticed it on tap at a bar in Philly. I asked about it and the waitress said that they were all out and not getting any more. I thought “Wow! Must be good stuff to sell out before October was even over!” So I began a quest to sample this beer and missed it again.

Well, this year, I didn’t miss it. Yuengling barely makes mention of it on their site and I’ve only seen shots of the bottle labels. I was informed that it was only available on wholesale it’s first couple years and this is the first year for bottling. It got a bunch of hype locally by word of mouth. Many people were impressed with it.

I have to say that I’m a little disappointed. Maybe it’s the bottling vs. tap scenario but I was expecting more with all the hype this got. I’ve only had this in a bottle and I’ve been told it’s quite good out of the tap. That’s often the case with Yuengling brews. They are good out of the bottle/can but exponentially better from the tap. So I will have to find this on tap and give it a go that way as well.

For now, this is a little on the underwhelming side. I was expecting something heartier and more robust like other Oktoberfest styles. This isn’t bad, not at all. It’s very much in line with the style and honestly The after tastes of the nutty malts coming through is worth a try alone. This is also very easy drinking. Most Oktoberfests and such are heavy and leave you feeling bloated and full far too quickly. This one doesn’t though. It goes down easy and smooth.

Where I think it falls short is that the build up to that aftertaste that is so spectacular gives you no clue what is about to happen. It’s not necessarily flavorless, it’s just bland I guess is the best way to describe it. Then that aftertaste comes along and you’re left wondering where the hell that came from. If only there was a hint of that aftertaste in the body, this would be at least a 9/10. I have to sadly give this a 6/10. Maybe it’s better on top? I dunno. It’s hard to find but i will not end my quest for this on tap just because the bottle wasn’t what I was expecting. Maybe out of the tap it is that 9/10. So, another beer the jury is still out on. There is a great deal of potential here. I hope the tap will live up to the hype!

Leave a Reply

