Evil Twin Yin: None More Black

Type of Beer: Stout

Beer: Evil Twin Yin Imperial Taiji Stout
Brewery: Evil Twin Brewing
Rating: 7/10
Place of Purchase: Mr. Dunderbak’s, Tampa, FL
Bottling Date: NA, enjoy by 2015

Channeling my inner Nigel Tufnel, how much more black could this be? And the answer is none. None more black. I had a bit of a crap day at work today and needed a beer. So, we headed down to our favorite watering hole. Since I’d gotten a recommendation by friend and major contributor here, John Stasny, to try some of Evil Twin Brewing’s beers, I was pleased to find that Dunderbak’s offered their Yin & Yang.

Yin & Yang are a Taiji (Taiwanese highly derogatory and pejorative term for “traitor”) stout and flippant good imperial IPA that are made to be drank together as a black & tan. It’s not cheap stuff though, at 12 bucks a bottle, so I decided to just try the Yin this time, and I have to say it was pretty good. It had a very strong and aromatic taste, a sweet taste, like raw sugar cane with caramel accents. But at the same time, you can’t be in any hurry to drink it. It’s bitter if you drink it too fast, and it’s a bit full bodied and can be over-powering if taken at more than a sip at a time. I thought my wife would hate it, but she liked it even more than I did. It’s definitely not bad and I think I could grow to love it.

I’m giving it a 7/10 for now with a possibility of it growing to an 8/10, if I eventually have the cash to pursue it further. Not bad, not bad at all.

One thought on “Evil Twin Yin: None More Black

  1. This is a very flavorful brew. I agree that it does need to be consumed in small sips because there is so much flavor–from the spices and the aroma to the smoky, caramely and earthy hints–that drinking it too fast makes the beer tast bitter.

Leave a Reply

