This is one hell of an Arrogant Ale

Type of Beer: American Strong Ale

Beer: Bottleworks 13th Anniversary Ale
Brewery: Stone Brewing Company with a recipe from Bottleworks
Rating: 8/10
Place of Purchase: The Rumrunner
Bottling Date: NA

My first thought after smelling this brew, and then taking my first drink, was that this is what Arrogant Bastard should be if it were up to me. But let me back up a second here. I’m a huge fan of the guys over at Stone, I think they are brilliant, but I am not a fan of Arrogant Bastard, something about the flavor of it has never agreed with my palate. But this brew, with 13 hops and 13 grains, brewed into the darkness is brilliant. The first thing that grabs you is the smell and the flavor of the malts. It’s this thick, viscous, heavy smell that you think can’t possibly be matched by it’s flavor. But it is. Oh my is it ever.

A couple of tasting notes, the nose, is practically straight chocolate and molasses. After you’ve had a few drinks, you can start to notice that there are, indeed hops in the nose, but they are not the show here. The taste is heavy, it has some very thick aspects to it, but the hops are present, if only in their sticky presence. The taste is like the smell, only more earthy, and with a bit of a syrupy feel to it.

I came back and bought another bottle of this brew, based on my impression from the first one. And looking at my notes, there is no reason to modify any of my thoughts. A great brew with a rather complex recipe.

Leave a Reply

