Welcome to Brewing Debate!

Welcome to Brewing Debate. We are a few folks from around the United States who are very passionate about the beers we encounter. We also happen to be opinionated about these brews and what makes them great. The make up of the folks who are here range the gamut from insane hop heads to gueuze loving folk who believe that hops are only for bittering. And to be honest, that diversity of people who talk beer, on a very regular basis is what led to the idea of sharing our experiences, opinions and our own quests for the next beer.

And with that out of the way…

I present you all with our first brew review.

Anchor Bock

Type of beer: Bock
Beer: Anchor Bock Beer
Brewery: Anchor Brewing Company
Rating: 7/10
Place of Purchase: Plaza Liquors (Tucson, AZ)

What we have here is an unlikely candidate for my first review. As I am not generally the biggest fan of this style. However, this brew was a pleasant surprise.  I would rate it a solid 7 based on my experience with it.

Anchor does not have bottling dates on their brews, however this particular bottle was from batch 2FV and was purchased from the wonderful and knowledgable folks over at Plaza Liquors of Tucson, Arizona. It resided in my fridge for about two weeks before I enjoyed it tonight, and it seemed no worse the wear for being at best a few weeks old.

Bocks can be, in my opinion, very hit and miss. Sometimes it’s a crazy dark brew with one overpowering ingredient, Other bocks they are so light I wonder how they thought that they could actually call it a bock… But this one, the barley malts come through first and foremost, but the nose… is that hops I smell? In a bock? Why yes, those are most certainly hops that I smell. They are mixed into the flavor, the hops only bring a bit of bitterness and a faint spice with them. The malts and the overall taste of this brew all work together to make this a refreshing, almost light tasting beer, which seriously belies it’s dark and rough looking exterior. Upon my inspection of the bottle I see that the hops involved in the process are fresh, whole hops.

In closing, I’ll give this one a look every season when it is available (which is every spring, so if you see some of this one out there still, you should pick it up before it disappears until next year).

Sam, AKA Gamecat235

Leave a Reply

